Jounce as a real substitute vs other matured frameworks

Sep 3, 2011 at 6:44 AM

Hi, 

We are in process of introducing few architecture changes into our new large scale project. 

We would like to introduce few parts of jounce pieces. I would like to know few things. 

1) An overview of what are the factors that are present in PRISM which is not supported by Jounce?(like downloading of xap, regionapdaptor base support etc., i just need an overview :) )

2) does it really support Mobile/WPF portability?

3) Does it go well along with PRISM. if that is the case have we got any sample projects that shows how well it goes along with PRISM?

4) How well logging is available and extendable in Jounce?

And i have few more questions and really need ur answers before i proceed with the content?

Expecting you ppl help

Thanks in advance 

Silverlight Lover. !!!!!!!!!!

Coordinator
Sep 3, 2011 at 11:55 AM

1. I can't tell you all of those because I'm not a PRISM expert. I've used it in the past and for Jounce focused on the key things that I saw were needed in enterprise Silverlight applications. Jounce allows dynamic XAP download, Jounce supports regions, Jounce supports commands, Jounce provides property change notifications, Jounce supports pub/sub messaging with an event aggregator, etc.

2. No, Jounce does not directly support WP7/WPF. WPF is a possibility. WP7, no. It's a completely different paradigm on the phone so it didn't make sense to try to support it there. A well-written application should have decoupled classes that are shared anyway, so only the view and view model concerns would be different. We've built applications with Jounce on Silverlight and Ultralight.mvvm on the phone and there is probably 80 - 90 percent that can be shared between the code bases with the 10 - 20 percent focusing on the specific concerns of views and view models for the target platform.

3. Not sure what would prevent this